Press "Enter" to skip to content

The Federalist Papers

The Federalist Papers are a series of 85 essays written between October 1787 and May 1788. They were composed by three different authors: Alexander Hamilton, John Jay and James Madison, all under the single anonymous pseudonym ‘Publius’. Initially published in three New York newspapers, they subsequently appeared in newspapers across the fledgling nation. In these essays, Publius argues for implementation of the United States Constitution, which had been sent to the states for ratification in the Fall of 1787. Today, these essays serve as a primary source for the interpretation of the United States Constitution. In our time, it is worthwhile to remember the original impulses and philosophies that produced the United States government.